House Republicans, Joined by 37 Democrats, Vote to Further Entrench Fossil Fuel Infrastructure.

Stories about new heat records being broken have stopped feeling like news because they come so often. Same for stories about Arctic or Antarctic melting.

Meaningfully mitigating climate change will require aggressive steps to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels. However, on Thursday, the US voted to further entrench this dependency.

They did so by passing the Ensuring Small Scale LNG Certainty and Access Act, which seeks to codify the Department of Energy’s recently revised approval process for applications to export relatively small amounts of liquefied natural gas (LNG) from the United States. The Trump administration wants to expedite imports and exports of natural gas, which will only serve to further reliance on the fuel and entrench the infrastructure built for it.

The vote was 260 to 146. 223 Republicans and 37 Democrats voted for it. 143 Democrats and 3 Republicans voted against it.

The 3 Republicans were Walter Jones (NC-03), Mark Sanford (SC-01), and Chris Smith (NJ-04).

Here were the 37 Democrats:

Note that this includes two Senate candidates (O’Rourke and Sinema), two gubernatorial candidates (Lujan Grisham and Polis), and the DCCC chairman (Lujan).

Diana DeGette (CO-01) offered an amendment to require export applications to show that the natural gas to be exported was produced using available techniques to minimize methane emissions from leaks or venting.

It failed 195 to 210.

One Democrat — Collin Peterson — voted against it, and 14 Republicans voted for it. Those 14 Republicans were Mike Coffman (CO-06), Ryan Costello (PA-06), Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-08), John Katko (NY-24), Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02), Mia Love (UT-04), Tom MacArthur (NJ-03), Brian Mast (FL-18), Dave Reichert (WA-08), Francis Rooney (FL-19), Chris Smith (NJ-04), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), and Fred Upton (MI-06).

Frank Pallone (NJ-06) offered an amendment to ensure the public has the opportunity to know about, and provide input on, LNG export applications.

It failed 176 to 227.

One Republican — Walter Jones (NC-03) — voted for it with Democrats, and 5 Democrats joined Republicans in voting against it: Conor Lamb, Ben Lujan, Michelle Lujan Grisham, Gene Green, and Collin Peterson.

Editor. Bibliophile. Gadfly. Environmentalist. Super-volunteer for progressive campaigns. Boston by way of Baltimore, London, NYC, DC, and Philly.